Primary Election Today – Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Polls opened at 7 a.m. this morning, Tuesday, May 16, 2017, in Pennsylvania, and will remain open until 8 p.m.

Historically, turnout is low on “off years” but local elections matter! Local elections determine not just how your schools are run (or if they are built), not just how your town is run (roads, recycling, police, development, etc.), but who decides on how laws are enforced, and if they are lawful in the first place (e.g. voter laws, gerrymandering, fair use, property rights, drilling rights, even bathroom rights).

Check out posts below, or do your own research on the candidates, but be sure to get out and vote today!

Judicial Primary Candidate Info

MayPrimaryBallotThe Montgomery County Democratic Party and the Area 2 Upper Perkiomen Democratic Committee have endorsed and are recommending the following candidate on the May 2017 PA Primary Ballot:

Judge of the Superior Court – Geoff Moulton and Maria McGlaughlin

Judge of the Commonwealth Court – Ellen Ceisler and Todd Eagen

Judge of Common Pleas – Wendy Rothstein and Jeff Salz


Upper Perk School Board Election!

Quite often the school board election is decided in the primary, not in November – especially since school board candidates tend to crossfile (run on both the Democratic and the Republican ticket). The Pennsylvania Primary Election this year is on Tuesday, May 16, 2017; polls are open from 7 a.m. – 8 p.m. Whether or not a new middle school should, and will, be built in the Upper Perkiomen Valley school district is the main issue in this year’s school board election.

Here is the list of candidates for Upper Perkiomen School District that will appear on the Democratic Primary ballot (listed in the order they will appear on the ballot) and their stated position on building a new middle school :

(voters may vote for 4 candidates for the 4 open seats)

  • Will Pike – FOR
  • Melanie Cunningham – AGAINST
  • Stephen Cunningham – AGAINST
  • Jessica Giuricich – FOR
  • John L Gehman – UNDECIDED (has gone back and forth on the issue)
  • Judy Maginnis – FOR
  • Kerry Drake – AGAINST
  • Jon Warren – FOR
  • Jame Glackin – AGAINST